Shey Baba - Requiem

Shey Baba

I Want It All

New Single Out Now.

Debut album released May 10th 2019









'There's a powerful debut from new face shey baba…. with its slow, dreamy quality and his incredible voice, that drops effortlessly from a piercing falsetto to a lower, more intimate murmur.” – The Independent

“It’s refreshing to see an emerging artist having an exaggerated idea of their music and Shey Baba is realizing his with a remarkable style” - The 405


LA-born singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist shey baba releases his masterful debut album ‘Requiem’ on May 10th throughVirgin EMI.


Watch the introductory video here:


In an age when music tends to feel rushed, shey baba is an anomaly. He takes his time. The musician spent two years in relative isolation patiently making what would become his stunning debut album, before teaming up with producers Joey Waronker (Beck, REM) Rollo Armstrong (Dido, Faithless) and mixer Dan Grech (George Ezra and Liam Gallagher) to complete the record.


“I didn’t start singing or writing songs until I was 20, but once I did, I quickly realised that music was the only way I could fully express the things I needed to.” A series of difficult personal and family tribulations fuelled the flames, and shey baba set out to create a labour of love and catharsis. Almost 24 months later, Requiem is complete. shey baba’s voice stands out above all, setting the tone for the cinematic and emotive sound of the album.


Since releasing his first two tracks in late 2017 ‘Requiem’ and early 2018 ‘Vertigo’, he has managed to rack up over 1 million streams completely independently. He also served as direct support to Susanne Sundfør on her North American and UK/European tours, and joined Bob Moses across Europe in February. Last year Shey made waves with an electrifying performance at Bonnaroo Music & Arts Festival and then played his first headline show in LA as apart of KCRW’s Summer Nights Concert Series at the end of June 2018.


With an incredible first body of work now complete, shey baba is ready to share something very special with the world. It seems shey himself may have summed it up best: “I feel like I’m blooming in the 11th hour”, and what has bloomed is beautiful.


shey baba will play the following UK dates:

Fri 3rd Live At Leeds Festival
Fri 10th Brighton, Hope & Ruin @ The Great Escape (UTA Showcase)



1. Born Sick
2. Vertigo
3. Requiem
4. I Want It All
5. Inside Out
6. Rescue
7. Long Way Down
8. Lighthead
9. Dreamers & Lovers
10. My Faith Is Running Out